Serving the People of Hardee County Since 1921
Tax Deed Sales

RULES FOR TAX DEED SALES:(Per Florida Statute 197.542)

The purchasing of a tax deed does not warrant or guarantee a clear and marketable title.

Neither the Clerk of Circuit Court nor the Tax Collector warrants or guarantees a clear and marketable title.

Bidding starts at the amount needed to pay the outstanding taxes, interest, thereon, and all costs related to said sale. If there are no higher bids, the property shall be struck off and sold to the certificate holder, who shall pay to the clerk any amounts included in the minimum bid not already paid, including, but not limited to, the documentary stamp tax, the recording fees, and, if the property is homestead property, the moneys to cover the one-half value of the homestead within 30 days after the sale. Upon payment, a tax deed shall be issued and recorded by the clerk. If the certificate holder fails to make full payment when due, the clerk shall enter the land on a list entitled "lands available for taxes."

The high bidder shall post with the Clerk a NON-REFUNDABLE DEPOSIT OF 5 PERCENT OF THE BID OR $200.00, WHICHEVER IS GREATER at the time of the sale, to be applied to the sale price at the time of full payment.

The Clerk shall refuse to recognize the bid of any person who has previously bid and refused, for any reason, to honor such bid.

If full payment of the final bid and of documentary stamp tax and recording fees is not made within 24 hours, excluding weekends and legal holidays, the Clerk shall cancel all bids, re-advertise the sale as provided in this section, and pay all costs of the sale from the deposit. Any remaining funds must be applied toward the opening bid.

Payment must be made in the form of a cashier's check, certified check, money order, or cash.


If the sale is canceled for any reason or the buyer fails to make full payment within the time required, the clerk shall re-advertise the sale within 30 days after the buyer's nonpayment or, if canceled, within 30 days after the clerk receives the costs of resale. The sale shall be held within 30 days after re-advertising. Only one advertisement is necessary. The amount of the opening bid shall be increased by the cost of advertising, additional clerk's fees as provided for in s. 28.24(21), and interest as provided for in subsection (1). If, at the subsequent sale, there are no bidders at the tax deed sale and the certificate holder fails to pay the moneys due within 30 days after the sale, the clerk may not re-advertise the sale and shall place the property on a list entitled "lands available for taxes." The clerk must receive full payment before the issuance of the tax deed.

Tax Deed sales are held on Wednesdays at 11:00 am. at 417 West Main St. Second Floor Hallway outside of Room 202, Wauchula, Fl. 33873.

Tax Deed Surplus Funds Lists: The Clerk of Court's tax deed surplus funds list can be purchased for $7.00 each.

Payment must be made in the form of a money order, a cashier's check, a company check, a credit card or a debit card. A 3.5% processing fee that is charged by is applied to the credit or debit card. Once payment has been received, the overbid list is sent by regular mail or email in PDF format.

You can find further information concerning Tax Deed Sales in Chapter 197 of the Florida Statutes.

If you have any questions, you can contact the Tax Deed Division at (863) 773-4174 ext 225
or email:

Our office hours are 8:30 am to 4:00 pm, Monday through Friday. Excluding Holiday's.
242079 Visitors since August 6, 2013